Mac 3-Finger Tap for Dictionary, Thesaurus, and Wikipedia

I discovered something by accident on my Mac today that I felt is very worth sharing for all of you Mac users out there.  I was writing up some questions in a document and all of the sudden there was a little box that popped up, and the word my cursor was on was highlighted yellow.  In the box was a dictionary definition, thesaurus words, and wikipedia information on the word.

I couldn’t figure out how to reproduce what had happened for a while, and then I discovered that all it takes is a tap on the touchpad with three fingers.  If your cursor is over a word (it works in most places and apps), then the box will appear.  I will show a screenshot for “awesome”.

Mac three finger tap

I find this new discovery to be awesome, and I wish I would have known about it a long time ago, so I figured I would share it here.  I hope you too find it as useful as I now have!

Note:  I am on a MacBook Pro laptop that is about 2 years old at the time of writing this, and I am using Mac OS X 10.8.5.  I’m not sure when this feature was introduced, so there is a chance that older computers and/or operating system versions may not include this feature.  As far as I’m aware, this is a default setting, as I have no recollection of turning this feature on.

Leave a Reply

