Distracted From The Bible By Other Books

Over the past few months, I have done a fair amount of reading.  But in the midst of all of my reading, I have managed to neglect the Bible.  I didn’t notice it at first because I was reading books about the Bible.

I think it can be easy for me to do this because there is a sense of “fulfilling my duty” as a Christian that can be achieved by reading Christian books.  And while reading about the Bible is great, we are not drinking from the source.  Books about the Bible would not exist without the Bible.  Therefore, the Bible is pretty important, and very worth knowing and seeing for ourselves.

I write this as a reminder and realization for myself, and if you find yourself in a similar place, I hope it is a help for you too.

Leave a Reply

