Help Me Choose Some Commentaries on Acts

There is a possibility that I might be working on a project in the book of Acts.  I would like to select four or five commentaries/books on Acts to help me with this.  I have done a little research already and have compiled a list of four top candidates, potentials, and one older commentary.  If you have any feedback, ideas, or suggestions, please let me know.

Top Candidates:

  1. The Acts of the Apostles (Pillar New Testament Commentary) – David G. Peterson.  This book is at the top of my list because of my experience with other Pillar commentaries – especially James Edwards book on Mark.
  2. The Acts of the Risen Lord Jesus (New Studies in Biblical Theology) – Alan J. Thompson.  I wanted to include this book, which I know isn’t a commentary per say, because this series of books comes highly recommended, and I haven’t ready any yet.  Having a book that isn’t standard commentary style may be helpful.
  3. Acts (Baker Exegetical Commentary on the NT) – Darrell L. Bock.  I have never used any Baker commentaries, and I haven’t heard of the author.  However, this book was on many top lists for Acts commentaries.
  4. Acts (Reformed Expository Commentary) – Derek W. H. Thomas.  Same situation as the book above.

Other Potentials:

  1. Acts for Everyone – N. T. Wright.  This book comes in two separate parts.  The link I included was for part one.  The reason this one is on the list is that I have heard great things about the author.
  2. The Message of Acts (Bible Speaks Today) – John Stott.  I read numerous good things about this commentary and about the author, but the reason this isn’t on the top candidates list is that I have a Colossians commentary in this same series that I am not overly impressed with.
  3. Acts (The NIV Application Commentary) – Ajith Fernando.
  4. Acts (New Testament Commentary) – Simon J. Kistemaker.
  5. The Book of the Acts (New International Commentary on the NT) – F. F. Bruce.
  6. Acts (Tyndale New Testament Commentaries) – I. Howard Marshall.

Older Works:

  1. Acts (The Crossway Classic Commentaries) – John Calvin.
One thought on “Help Me Choose Some Commentaries on Acts

Leave a Reply

