October 2013 Update

Every once in a while, I give a personal update of what’s going on – mostly just whenever I feel like it or whenever enough significant things have happened.  So here’s another:

We Left Our Church… But Attend A Different One Now

Over the past few months, my wife and I started to feel more and more like the church we had been attending was not feeling like the right fit.  We have a number of reasons as to why, but prefer to not put them up on here.  But, I will say that is that there were no major issues or people problems.  I care greatly for the pastor there, and meeting with him to tell him we were leaving was really tough.  Of the reasons we had, he isn’t one of them.  That church was the perfect place for us for a time, and the pastor was very helpful and caring for me.  He had a great positive influence on me.

We have attended a new church plant twice now that is part of Sovereign Grace Ministries.  We have been able to meet a lot of people there, and have connected extremely well there.  I’ve met with the pastor twice, and I have a lot of respect for him.  We are still in the “dating” phase, but this is most likely the place we will be for a while.  The preaching is excellent, and we connect well with their vision for the church.

Bible Translation – Off The Table

I had talked a while back about Bible translation, and our interest in pursuing it to see what happens.  It is now off the table for a number of reasons.  One of the main reasons is that I had hoped I would be in a better place with my faith by now.  Things are definitely better than they were 9 months ago, but I don’t feel ready for missions at all.  My wife isn’t really into it as much as we thought she’d be either.  So, after revisiting the idea and discussing it a couple months back, we decided it was best to table it, for now at least.

Seminary

For the first time in my life, I’m actually interested in reading and studying (have been over the last 11 months).    I have spent a lot of time reading lately, and the thought of further education sounds really intriguing.  Last month we heard that Truett Seminary (connected with Baylor University in Waco, TX) was having an open house in North Austin for a satellite campus they were planning on starting this upcoming spring semester.  I went and checked it out and met a few people there and had a good time.  After discussing it with my wife, we decided it may be a good step to at least try a class or two and see how it goes, and see if it’s something I could stick with.  So I’m currently working on the application.  We will be going to a preview day that they have at the end of this month to learn more and see the campus as well.

Faith

Still a challenge for me.  I waver a lot.  Some days I feel like I’m on the brink of being able to confidently say that I believe, and other days I don’t.  Clearly I believe to some degree.  If I didn’t, there’s no way I would still be reading and studying the Bible for the last 11 months.  I really want to believe, but for some reason I just don’t feel completely convinced.  Yet I will continue to press on and keep seeking and knocking.

Leave a Reply

