When Thoughts Become Too Critical

A good friend of mine pointed out to me today that some of my recent posts have been rather critical in nature. I agree 100%.  I have been in a fairly dark and critical place lately, and things that may not even be that big of a deal really set me off.  That criticalness has really clouded my judgement on what I have posted lately, and I have become a critic standing far back and pointing the finger instead of either keeping it to myself or trying to be part of a solution.

This is not the way I want to be, nor is it the way I want to use this blog.  But, it has happened, and I became very critical in my posts.  This is part of being human.  We make mistakes at times and deviate from the ways we want to be or the ways we are called to be.  Fortunately, I have friends who are willing to call me out on it.  For that I am thankful.

To anyone I may have offended or upset with my posts, I am sorry.  It is not my aim to do that.  I am going to leave the posts up for now though.  The two recent posts were “Teaching Adults Like Children?” and “Lame Christian Phrases.”  The reason I’d like to leave them up is to show the journey and this experience.  I will be updating each of those posts to address this and link to this post.

Getting to the point of being critical is a tough place to be.  It makes the thing you are critical about seem incredibly unappealing, which is very unhelpful especially when I really want Christianity to be appealing.  And, when I post about it on the web, I just encourage others to be critical with me, or I discourage them.  There is very little to no help or benefit offered in a critical post.  I think it is still ok to post about the two topics above, but with a completely different approach.

So, a big “thank you” to the friend who very lovingly and graciously pointed this out to me.  And again, I’m sorry to all of my readers for potentially encouraging you to become critical through my writings.  I will certainly be much more mindful about what I write about and how I write it.

4 thoughts on “When Thoughts Become Too Critical

  1. […] Important Note:  I have since realized that the following post, though certainly my raw and honest thoughts at the time, is very critical and not the way I would like to handle myself on this blog.  So please keep that in mind if you choose to read this.  For more information on this, read my more recent post here. […]

  2. Hi Josh, I enjoy reading your thoughts. Although being an encouragement appeals to us rather than being critical they both serve a purpose in how the heart responds. If Christians, or anyone for that matter, can only benefit from being encouraged then honesty ‘always’ has to be sugarcoated or pleasing to the mind’s eye, in the case of the reader. We can, without a shadow of a doubt choose our words wisely and wisely tell the truth.

    Have a wonderful weekend.

Leave a Reply

