Lame Christian Phrases

Important Note:  I have since realized that the following post, though certainly my raw and honest thoughts at the time, is very critical and not the way I would like to handle myself on this blog.  So please keep that in mind if you choose to read this.  For more information on this, read my more recent post here.

I recently had a good friend of mine, whom I greatly respect, pray for my family as we were beginning our road trip back to our home in Texas.  He prayed that God would give us “traveling mercies.”  Traveling mercies?  Is that some kind of candy or mints?  Just kidding.  Ultimately, he was just praying that God would help our trip to be a good one and that he would watch over us.  This is a very kind and loving gesture, that our friends would pray for our journey and request that God watch over us.  For that I’m thankful, and I love those guys.

But, for some reason Christianity is full of lame phrases.  Here is a short list of some of the phrases I can remember.  Note: Some of these are not inherently lame, but they can often be used in a lame way.

  • Traveling mercies
  • Hedge of protection
  • Guard your heart
  • Quiet time
  • Devotions (or, personal devotions)
  • Accept God into your heart
  • Give it to God
  • God told me…
  • You just have to read your Bible and pray
  • Have a blessed day (or, be blessed) – (how do I do that??)
  • God’s been teaching me…
  • God is good!

For me, these kinds of phrases make God/Christianity fluffy, and they don’t always make sense.  And to one who overhears who is not a Christian, they may have no idea what you are talking about or may misunderstand what you really mean.

And to clarify – this is simply my opinion on this.  I don’t fault anyone who uses any of these phrases, especially our friends who recently used one such phrase.  I just encourage everyone to think about what they say, and how it may be heard from a variety of people in different places.  As Christians, we should want to live in a way that makes Jesus and a life lived devoted to him attractive, appealing, and intriguing.  What we say influences that.

This post is only one of many out there of people sharing similar lists and their distaste for phrases like this.  So there are many people out there who find phrases like these unattractive.

Now that I have shared my opinion, what is yours?

One thought on “Lame Christian Phrases

Leave a Reply

