How Would You Respond To: “What If You Are Wrong?”

Have you ever thought much about the effects or consequences that may happen if you are wrong about what faith/belief/religion you have chosen?  Will you just enter into the circle of reincarnation?  Will you burn in hell forever?  Will you just be eternally dead?  These are some interesting things to think about for only yourself.  But let’s say you are an author, evangelist, or missionary for your chosen belief, spreading your faith on to others, and in doing so also causing others to enter into believing something that could be wrong as well.  So not only are you yourself headed down the wrong path, but you are also partially responsible for bringing others down the wrong path as well.  That’s a scary thought.

Many religions have missionary efforts including Christianity, Islam, Buddhism, Mormonism, and Jehovah’s Witnesses.  Most of the followers of these religions would claim that their religion is right, and the others are wrong.  They can’t all be right.  Some are wrong (and some would argue that all of them are wrong).  So then, what if you are wrong?

No matter what faith or belief you have, I would encourage you to think about this question, and respond with a comment to this post.  I’d like to know what you believe too (are you an atheist, Catholic, Muslim, etc.).  I do not want any questions along the lines of “I’m not wrong”.  If you have chosen to believe in a certain thing, I already know that you don’t think you are wrong.  Do you think there would be ill consequences for you?  Do you think there would be even harsher consequences for missionaries and evangelists out there trying to spread their faith to others?  Does it even matter to you?  Is it worth thinking about?  How does the question make you feel?

3 thoughts on “How Would You Respond To: “What If You Are Wrong?”

  1. Good thoughts – I think I would respond to the question by saying “If I am wrong I have wasted my life.” To quote “The Truth Project” in some form – I want to “really believe what I believe is really real.” If not – them what am I doing giving my life to it, right? That is my thought off the cuff…thanks again for sharing your thoughts!!

  2. I am a Christian. I do believe I have truth, however, I also understand that I can be deceived. When I share my faith, I try to share from the standpoint of, ‘Don’t take my word for it, I could be wrong. Ask God yourself.’ I honestly believe that if people are converted to truth, it isn’t me that gives the revelation, it’s God. I try to leave it in His hands best I can. I take a stand on what I believe and trust that if I am deceived, God knows me well enough to know how to speak to me to correct any errors. 🙂

  3. I don’t like to describe myself as an atheist because it always sounds a bit cold and implies that I have no beliefs whatsoever (spiritual, religious or otherwise) which isn’t entirely true.

    I’m a very spiritual person and do believe in some form of afterlife and / or a greater power or force but couldn’t tell you any more about it because it’s just something I feel in my own heart and not something I can actually envisage if that makes sense?

    I was brought up with all the hell and damnation the Catholic Church could throw at me but have very little fear I’m in any trouble for having turned my back on it and gone my own way. If I’m wrong, I’ll be interested to know what God thinks about the fact I was just a good, decent and kind person without him for guidance and without fear being the main driving force behind how I’ve lived. I’m not a good person out of fear or because someone or something told me I should be. I’m a good person because I want to be and believe it’s right. That should count for something.

    If it doesn’t, I’ll happily plummet below to the fiery depths where I’m sure I’ll be in better company amongst other good, decent people. 🙂

Leave a Reply

