What Else Have I Been Reading Lately?

As you have seen from previous posts, I am currently reading through a commentary on Mark called “The Gospel According To Mark” by James R. Edwards.  I’m only on page 51 (not even half way through Mark chapter 1 yet), but it is very good so far.  But, I’ve been busy reading other things as well.

I started auditing a church history from a missiological perspective course through my church this winter.  I just finished all the reading for the course.  There were two textbooks we had to read, which were actually the first two textbooks I have ever fully read cover to cover.  The first book is called “Dynamics of Christian Mission: History Through A Missiological Perspective“:

Dynamics of Christian MissionThe cover doesn’t do this book justice.  It’s a rather ugly and unenjoyable cover.  But the book was great.  Instead of just going through church history, the focus was on how Christianity spread through history.  The author gave what I felt to be a fair and objective perspective on different movements, both the good and the bad.  He also shared some of his own perspectives and experiences which were insightful.

The second book is called “Parade of Faith: A Biographical History of the Christian Church“:

Parade of FaithThis book, as the subtitle states, goes through history of the Christian church by highlighting important people of the times.  This book and the first book definitely overlapped at times, but much of the time this book went further into detail about the people, and it highlighted many people that the first book never mentioned.  It wasn’t as interesting to me as the first book, but it was definitely insightful.

If I were to recommend one over the other, I would definitely say that the first book was by far a better read.

Now that I’m done, I’m going to spend the summer reading some non-textbooks, which I’m excited about.  The first book was recommended and sent to me by the Wycliffe recruiter that I have been in contact with.  The book is called “Sleeping Coconuts“.  It is the story John & Bonnie Nystrom, who were Bible translators in Papua New Guinea with Wycliffe.  It tells about their experience as Bible translators, as well as dealing with a devastating tsunami that hit the village they lived in in 1998.

Sleeping CoconutsAfter that book, the current plan is to read a biography about J. Hudson Taylor called “A Man In Christ“.  Taylor  is a well-known missionary to China in the 1800’s.  I don’t know much about him, but the book came highly recommended:

A Man In ChristAfter that, I would like to find a good book on missions in general.  If you have any suggestions on that, please leave a comment and let me know.

One thought on “What Else Have I Been Reading Lately?

Leave a Reply

