When I Ask And Do Not Receive – Part 2

I wrote a post called When I Ask And Do Not Receive a couple weeks ago.  Still I am asking, and still it seems I am not receiving.  I seem to be stuck in this place where I feel like I kind of believe, and I want to believe, but I can’t say with confidence that I really believe it all.  Why is God not revealing himself to me, or convincing me that he is real?  Or is he, and I’m just blind to it?  If that’s the case, he should know that, and should know how to reveal himself in a way I can recognize it, right?

In Genesis 15, God comes to Abraham in a vision, and speaks to him and makes a covenant with him.  Through this it says that Abram believed.  But then Abram, even though believing, asks God how he is to know that these things will really happen.  God still even further convinces him that the things promised will happen.

In Exodus 33-34, Moses asks God to “show me your glory!”, and later on the mountain, God passes by Moses and allows him to see his back as he passes by.

In my previous post (that I liked above), Jesus says to seek, ask, and knock, and it will be given to you.  I feel like I am doing these things, but not receiving what I am asking for.

After Jesus’ resurrection, Thomas says in John 20:25:  “Unless I see in His hands the imprint of the nails, and put my finger into the place of the nails, and put my hand into His side, I will not believe.”  Jesus appears to Thomas and asks him to touch the wounds, and believe.

In Luke 24, there were 2 walking on the road to Emmaus, talking about what had taken place at the tomb of Jesus.  Jesus appeared to them, without them even asking, and revealed himself to them, and “explained to them the things concerning Himself in all the Scriptures.”

God has a history of revealing himself to people, and even tells us we should ask!  How can it be then that I am searching the scriptures and praying and asking for faith, asking for assurance and to be convinced, asking for God to reveal himself to me, and I’m not getting it.  How long must I wait before before I give up asking the God who says to “ask and it will be given to you”?  Is the discouragement that I feel right now something that God wants me to be feeling?  Am I doing something wrong?

3 thoughts on “When I Ask And Do Not Receive – Part 2

  1. I wait for the LORD, my soul waits,
    and in his word I hope;
    my soul waits for the Lord
    more than watchmen for the morning,
    more than watchmen for the morning.
    (Psalm 130:5-6 ESV)

    Sometimes, we don’t receive the answer right away. Sometimes, we don’t receive the answer we want. I’ve often felt that way–only to look back later and see that God DID answer. It just took longer, and it wasn’t exactly what I wanted or how I wanted, so I didn’t see it.

    I know this doesn’t answer your questions, but I would say: press on. If you are genuinely seeking, you will eventually be answered. But God doesn’t come on your own terms. He comes on His terms…and that is often hard for us to fathom.

  2. If you’re open to a different type of effort, I would strongly recommend reading A Praying Life by Paul Miller. I have struggled, and hard, with having my prayers go unanswered and feeling like God had left me out in the cold. I’ve really wondered about the purpose of prayer, especially in a pre-ordained world. I picked up this book on the recommendation of a friend hoping for some clarity and renewed inspiration, and was blown away by the perspective explained. I finished the book with three big takeaways: God’s love for me isn’t affected by the way I pray; God doesn’t just want to hear about the big issues in my life, although I think it makes a difference that we pray for things passionately; and when we pray for a specific solution to a problem, it can take away from the much larger possibilities of God’s answer to that problem. (In my case this was very tangible — praying for Kevin getting a job as an answer to financial stress. Now I just pray God will provide money as necessary.)

Leave a Reply

