I Dreamed About The End Of The World

Before I went to bed last night, I decided to read a chapter of the Bible from Matthew.  I read chapter 24.  Much of this chapter talks about the coming of Jesus and about him coming when we do not expect it.  The most vivid of visualizations that Jesus gives in in verse 29 where he says “the sun will be darkened, and the moon will not give its light, and the stars will fall from heaven, and the powers of heaven will be shaken.”

I dreamed that I was in my home.  It was night and the kids were asleep.  I was in my office reading or something, and something changed.  I got the urge to go look out the window, and the first thing I notice is a round object in the sky.  It was smaller than the moon, and it look to it like lava, but it was dim and appeared to be very far away.  I looked around in the sky and realized that there was not a single star anywhere.  I looked back at the round object.  It wasn’t doing anything, but it was definitely unlike anything I’d ever seen before.  Then I started to see other things.  Different shapes and colors in different parts of the sky.  I have no idea what they were or what was happening, but it seemed that something was set into motion.

Then the earth moved.  I felt it and was knocked off balance and fell to the floor.  It kept speeding up and we were heading in a direction I could see.  It seemed as if the galaxy the earth was a part of no longer existed.  There were no stars, no moon, no sun, nothing except the weird shapes I had seen.  At that point, I felt confident that this was the end of the world, and that the force at work was more powerful and frightening than I ever imagined.  It’s one thing to think about it, its another to experience it on that scale.  I was scared, because I didn’t feel confident that, come judgement, I would be “saved”.

Eventually, I saw something approaching.  It was like a massive city or something, though it was dark.  I could see the outlines of huge buildings and structures (larger than the earth).  The city was circular, but not necessarily spherical.  The earth began to approach the city, and started to slow down.  It seemed like it was going to be parked somewhere in this huge city.  The size of it was overwhelming, and like nothing I had ever seen before, but it was currently uninviting and still darkened.

As we got closer and closer, I remember feeling more and more overwhelmed, and fearful about what would happen next.  I truly felt like I was nearer to the presence of a power that was greater than I could even handle.   Fear and trembling – that is exactly how I felt.  I knew something huge was going to happen, so at that point it was just a waiting game.  Eventually the emotion and fear of it all drove me to wake up, so I did not see or experience anything after that.

I woke up around 4am.  It was dark, and there was actually a wind storm going on outside.  So, needless to say, I had a lot on my mind and I didn’t sleep well after that.

I wanted to document this so I didn’t forget about it.  I want to be clear though: I’m not saying at all that this is what I think the end is going to be like, or that this is prophetic, or any of that.  To me, at this point, it was just a dream.  It definitely gave me some things to think about with how I felt in my dream when I was experiencing a power so far greater than anything I had ever imagined before.  It has brought some new meaning for me when I read something like Philippians 2:12-13.

One thought on “I Dreamed About The End Of The World

Leave a Reply

