Does Just Saying “In Jesus’ Name” Mean Anything?

“In Jesus’ name” – you can expect to hear this phrase at the end of nearly every Christian prayer you hear these days. But, is that really what we are supposed to do?

There are a good number of times where Jesus says things like “Whoever receives such child in my name receives me” (Matt. 18:5), and “Whatever you ask in my name, this I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If you ask me anything in my name, I will do it.” (John 14:13-14)

So does this really mean that at every prayer, and every acceptance of a child, we are to say “in Jesus’ name” to do that? I’m thinking no.

It’s one thing to say something, it’s another to do it. Saying that phrase is and shouldn’t be some sort of formula to to meet the above verses’ requirements. It should be the essence of who you are and why you are doing something, and therefore, I believe, should not need to be said. I won’t go so far as to say it’s bad to say it, I am just starting to think it would be better to not.

I might argue that if you feel like you need to say it to do it, you should reevaluate what it means to do it.

What do you think?

2 thoughts on “Does Just Saying “In Jesus’ Name” Mean Anything?

  1. Reblogged this on In The Courts of Royalty and commented:
    It’s interesting that you should post something like this. In Acts 19 the bible talks about the seven sons of sceva and how they tried to use the name of the Lord as a sort of incantation. Then the spirits they were trying to drive out manifested and beat them silly. Goes to show that using the name of Jesus without a relationship (&God righteousness) could actually attract spiritual trouble your character simply can’t handle.

Leave a Reply

