“Just Read The Bible and Pray”

For the past two and a half years I’ve been acting as an agnostic, having been raised in the christian church my entire life.  Rare is the day when I don’t think about my current spiritual condition, and wondering what I should do about it.  I’m not content with where I’m at.  I feel like I really want to believe that Christianity is true, but I just can’t right now.

Most Christians who hear where I’m at tell me to “just read the Bible and pray!”  While this advice isn’t horrible, my guess is that it’s spawned out of not being comfortable with the situation and is very much a programmed response in a sense.  Honestly, it’s not helpful at all (or at least, I don’t find it helpful).

So then, what ARE helpful things that a Christian can say to someone like me?

3 thoughts on ““Just Read The Bible and Pray”

  1. Josh,

    Christianity, although considered as a religion in a secular sense, is essentially, purely the living and enjoyment of a wonderful Person, Christ. To be an agnostic is by definition to not know “a-” (not or without) “gnosis” (knowledge) to be without knowledge. If so, it would imply that you don’t know if God is real or living. In order to be saved from “not knowing” you need to contact, behold, and enjoy this wonderful Person of Jesus Christ yourself. In 1 John 1:1 it says “That which was from the beginning, which we have heard, which we have seen with our eyes, which we beheld and our hands handled, concerning the Word of life. Admittedly we can’t touch the Lord Jesus physically like the apostle John did, but we can touch Him with our spirit. John also said in John 4:24, “God is Spirit and those who worship Him must worship in spirit and truthfulness.” I’d encourage to turn your heart to the Lord (2 Cor. 3:16) and open to the Lord from deep within and just call upon His name, “Lord Jesus!” Paul said that “the same Lord is Lord of all and rich to all that call upon Him” (Rom 10:12). As you call upon Him from deep within, you’ll find that you are in the Holy Spirit (1 Cor 12:3). Try it and see if you don’t experience living water flowing in your innermost being (John 7:37-39.)

    Tom

    • Thomas – Thanks for the comment. I don’t know what it is, but when people tell me stuff like this, and it’s so full of Bible verses and christian phrases like “experience living water flowing” and “we can touch him with our spirit”, I get turned off. Christians are often so full of the typical christian lingo, and I’m starting to think that it’s not a good way to connect with non-christians. It just doesn’t seem realistic or something. Though clearly you thought through what your comment, it just doesn’t feel like you connected with me at all or recognized where I’m at. You just preached at me. Or maybe there’s just that (to use christian lingo) my heart has been hardened so that I wouldn’t care or be affected no matter how good or bad people respond to my current situation…

Leave a Reply

