Should I Read The Harry Potter Books?

I have never really considered reading the Harry Potter books…  Until now.  A good friend of mine saw the final Harry Potter movie the other day and he said it changed his whole perspective on the quality of the story of Harry Potter as a whole.  He said he’s going to start reading the whole book series, and is pumped to do it.  And, this is coming from a guy who went to college for literature.

I’m not against reading them, or the content of the books, but I know the books are more geared towards the younger crowd, and I’m a 30 year old guy.  I like a good story though.  I really enjoyed the Narnia series, Ender’s Game, The Hunger Games, The Hobbit, etc.

When I told my wife that I was considering reading them, she was like, “What!?  Why!?”, knowing they are more geared for kids.  So, if you are reading this and you have an opinion, let me know what you think.

One thought on “Should I Read The Harry Potter Books?

  1. Yes you should read the Harry Potter books, I’ve been a fan since I was little and for me at least they just keep getting better the more times I read them. I know tons of people who are older that have read them and still love them. I for one think the books are better than the movies, mostly because the movies leave a ton of things out.

    But the main reason why I would suggest reading them, is because it is far easiesr to get lost in the books than in the movies, because in the books you get to create what everything looks like, how they talk and what they sound like, feel like, etc. because even though the words are there the images in your brain are so much better than anything they could create on “the big screen”.

Leave a Reply

