The Dilemma of Faith

There’s so much more to write on this, and think about, but I figured I’d write just a snippet.  Here’s the dilemma:  As for Christianity, or any other religion really, it requires faith.  Faith in the unseen, unheard, etc.  You can’t know that God is real by any methods that we prove things to be true.  So, if that is the case, how does anyone feel good about deciding which religion to choose?  I want to know that God is real before I commit to Christianity.  Doesn’t everyone want to know that??  I just don’t know how I could feel comfortable committing my life to something I’m not really sure about.  So, not being able to be sure, and having to substitute surety with faith, how can any Christian feel comfortable and confided that God is real?

One thought on “The Dilemma of Faith

  1. Powerful post. I won’t give you the “pray and read the Bible” line. I too went through a time in my life where I questioned everything regarding religion and God.

    How can Christians know that God is real? I don’t think there is any way to know for sure. The same goes for my wife, how do I know that I love her and she loves me? There is no tangible thing called love. I see the effects of that love without seeing it. For me, the same is true with God. While I can’t see God, I see the effects of God in my life and in the world.

    Questioning is a good thing, as is a healthy amount of doubt. I hope this blog serves you well on your life’s journey.

Leave a Reply

